Read our response to the George Floyd protests »

Fri, July 17, 7:30 PM EDT


This is a virtual groupmuse

Virtual classical concerts, with livestreaming musical performances, and a community video chat.

Concert stream

Starts at 7:30 PM EDT on Friday, July 17.

Reserve a spot
to join the this virtual concert


Hi everyone,

Welcome to our 6th Groupmuse, featuring more beloved duo repertoire.

We begin with Mozart's tragic two-movement Sonata in E Minor, followed by the Six Romanian Folk Dances by Béla Bartók, and we end up north with a rare gem, Grieg's youthful Violin Sonata No.1.

Each Groupmuse, we try and give you eclectic selections from violin/piano canon, and this evening will be no different.

In Paris, following the death of his mother, Mozart wrote the solemn two-movement Sonata in E Minor, the only violin sonata in a minor key, and the only instrumental work in E Minor.

Bartok's Six Roumanian Dances, written in 1915, were originally composed for solo piano. A couple years later, he arranged them for small ensemble, and the violinist Zoltán Székely arranged the work for violin and piano. This is the version you will hear on the program.

To end, we will perform the Violin Sonata No.1 Op.8 by Edvard Grieg. His nationalist spirit shines through with youthful vitality and, at times, pastoral reflection. A rarely heard work on the concert stage, we look forward to bringing this performance to you over the airwaves.

Spread the word! The more the merrier --- until we reach 100!

Stay healthy, and all the best,
Max and Mackenzie

Violin Piano Duo

W. A. Mozart: Sonata in E minor, K. 304
I. Allegro
II. Tempo di Menuetto

B. Bartok: Roumanian Folk Dances for Violin and Piano

E. Grieg: Violin Sonata No. 1, Op. 8
I. Allegro con brio
II. Allegretto quasi andantino
III. Allegro molto vivace



Ken Camper


Ben Linder


Howard R. Spendelow


Chauncey DiLaura


Sign up or Login to view comments.