Skip to content
This groupmuse happened on Saturday, September 12, at 6:30 PM CDT.
NEXUS Chamber Music Live from Guarneri Hall!
Virtual Livestream

NEXUS Chamber Music Live from Guarneri Hall!


Sat, September 12, 2020 6:30 PM, CDT

902 of 1000 spots still available
No COVID-19 restrictions
Drinking policy
Bring your own drinks
Toilet with a slash through it
No bathroom at this event
Wheelchair access
Wheelchair Accessible
Kid-friendly event

This is a livestreaming Groupmuse Virtual Concert

A live virtual performance with community videochat and a Q&A with the artists.


In the heart of Chicago — a city possessed of a truly legendary musical culture — a 60-person venue has emerged within the last couple years known as Guarneri Hall. What it lacks in seating-capacity, it makes up for in tech: The acoustically-engineered space is wired with state-of-the-art equipment designed specifically for ultra high-quality livestreams.

What no one could have known only six months ago is how invaluable a resource this space would become in an Age of Pandemic, wherein "seating-capacity” is a concern of the past.

So, for their season opener, they’re leveraging their tech-power to host the launch of the NEXUS 2.5 Virtual Chamber Music Festival as a groupmuse in our Spotlight Series, where we showcase some of the bright lights of the classical music world during COVID.

And for the occasion, Nexus has on deck three of best young string players of the rising generation: Brian Hong on violin; Rannveig Marta Sarc also on violin; and Alexander Hersh on cello.

Their program is a mix of the ancient — Viotti and Corelli — and the new — Augusta Read Thomas and Texu Kim, with Zoltan Kodaly’s electrifying late-romantic ethno-folkish masterpiece, the Op. 7 Duo for Violin and Cello as the grand finale.

As ever, we’ll have a pre-concert Zoom chat to arrive together in a listening and connective space, and an after-concert Q&A with the artists before we break for the night.

Looking forward to seeing you there!

What's the music?

Giovanni Battista Viotti (1755-1824)
String Trio W 3.19 (Op. 19 No. 1)
I. Allegro Vivace
II. Andante con Variazioni
III. Allegretto piu tosto vivo
Brian Hong, Rannveig Marta Sarc, violins; Alexander Hersh, cello

Texu Kim (b. 1980)
Homage to Anonymous Ancient Fiddlers
Rannveig Marta Sarc and Brian Hong, violins

Augusta Read Thomas (b. 1964)
Silent Moon (2006)
Rannveig Marta Sarc, violin; Alexander Hersh, cello


Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713)
Sonata de Chiesa (Church Sonata) in B minor, Op. 3 No. 4
I. Largo
II. Vivace
III. Adagio
IV. Presto

Zoltán Kodály (1882-1967)
Duo for Violin and Cello, Op. 7
I. Allegro serioso, non troppo
II. Adagio - Andante
III. Maestoso e largamente, ma non troppo lento - Presto
Brian Hong, violin; Alexander Hersh, cello


Sign up or Login to leave a comment.

Scott G., over 3 years ago

Dear Groupmuser:

It was a thrill for us to present the NEXUS 2.5 Live From Guarneri Hall program last night and wonderful that you could attend. The positive comments in the zoom chat about the performance and the broadcast gave us all really warm and positive feelings!

After the show it was called to our attention that our website indicated that no more tickets were available. This was an error on our part: the glitch has been fixed and tickets ARE available at:

We very much hope you weren’t inconvenienced by the glitch! As an attendee at last night’s performance you are entitled to a $5 discount on a pass for the rest of the festival, which will be four evenings of material for which the NEXUS artists have taken full advantage of Guarneri Hall’s production capabilities. You won’t find traditional concerts, but rather, shorter evenings with videos ranging from the informative to the light hearted and culminating with the premiere of Brannon Cho’s epic performance of the Britten 1st Suite for cello, in a stunning video filmed by Guarneri Hall creative director, Mike Grittani.

We will also have post show zoom events with the artists tonight and on the 16th. We hope to see you there!

Warm Regards from all of us at Guarneri Hall NFP,

Stefan Hersh


Debra Z.
Regina C.
Mark A.
Leigh M.
Joan L.
Marty B.
Paul C.
Ann D.
Katherine H.
Lindy B.
De'Siree N.
Bill H.
Clayton P.
Svava B.
Agnes O.
Ed Boesel (he/him)
Mark O.
William H.
Patricia L.
Anne B.
Anastasia A.
Phil S.
Henna L.
Mark W.
Lisa E. Groupmuse Superhost
Linda G.
Kathy R.
Jacob P.
Marvin S.
Zachary B.
Nora W.
Ermanno N.
Chloe W.
Dwight B.
Christine S.
Francine S.
Eric H.
Carol H.
Grant B.
Alan L.
Joy G.
Yumi N.
Bill M.
Marcia S.
Henry M.
Mini L.
Cynthia L.
Sharon Lee R.
Judith C.
Dinah B.
Ragna B.
Aude C.
Helaine C.
Sheri R.
Rosemary H.
Katherine E.
Solomon R.
Monika P.
Emily C.
Cheryl C.
Patricia G.
Laurilyn J.
Max T.
Lori K.
Nancy J.
Philip F.
Mary G.
Judy H.
Texu K.
June H.
Carolyn H.
Allan R.
Phyllis L.
Michael H.
Thomas L.
David F.
Don C.
Marie S.
Eun-Mee H.
Eliezer R.
Gary H.
Catherine C.
Leslie H.
Elaine B.