Skip to content
This groupmuse happened on Saturday, January 30, at 7:00 PM EST.

This is a livestreaming Groupmuse Virtual Concert

A live virtual performance with community videochat and a Q&A with the artists.

Is Music Your Only Interest?
Virtual Livestream

Is Music Your Only Interest?

New York, NY

Sat, January 30, 2021 7:00 PM, EST

66 of 100 spots still available
No COVID-19 restrictions
Drinking policy
Bring your own drinks
No bathroom at this event


Make sure to join the pre-concert Zoom. We are going to improvise music based on what YOU tell us in the pre-concert Zoom!

Impromptuo (violinist Katherine Kyu Hyeon Lim and pianist Joey Chang) are making a comeback in 2021!

Based in New York City, Impromptuo is an innovative improvisation-focused duo made up of violinist Katherine Kyu Hyeon Lim and pianist Joey Chang. The duo has been commissioned and presented by Metropolis Ensemble, House of Yes, (Le) Poisson Rouge, Fifth Wall Performing Arts, and National Arts Diversity Integration Association in 2020. They have also performed as part of the Variousound Sessions 2020 Residency, and co-founded The Moving Orchestra in 2019. Though primarily trained in European classical music, Impromptuo draws influence from traditions of free jazz, experimental electroacoustic music, etc., and suggestions from you!

The duo is presenting their first concert of 2021 with a classic Mozart violin sonata and a prominent American composer Pauline Oliveros' beautiful graphic scored piece, "Magnetic Trails".

What's the music?

Impromptuo Violin Piano Duo

Pay the musicians on Venmo or PayPal!

Venmo: @katherineviolin


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791)
Violin Sonata in B-flat major, K. 454
I. Largo - Allegro
II. Andante
III. Allegretto

Miniature Improvisations based on YOUR suggestions


Pauline Oliveros (1932 - 2016)
Magnetic Trails for Violin and Piano
I. East
II. South
III. West
IV. North


Sign up or Login to leave a comment.


Lily P. Emcee
Dwight B.
Marcelo C.
Jackie C.
Pam L.
Can W.
AEON Ensemble
Hillary B.
Stacia M.
Yen-Ping K.
Davis B.
Rebecca D.
Adin D.
Damien A.
Jungran L.
Julie Thompson-Dobkin (She/Her)
Mike H.
Michael M.
Lauren M.
Grant H.
Max T.
Lilibet M.
Stephen P.
Lisa L.
Axel H.
Philip F.
Daniel G.
Justin T.
Ten M C.
Guta H.
Leslie W.
Jack C.