This groupmuse happened on Saturday, January 30, at 7:00 PM EST.

This is a Virtual Groupmuse.

Connect to great musicians and a warm and welcoming community over live performances streamed into your home.


Is Music Your Only Interest?

Sat, January 30, 2021 7:00 PM, EST

Make sure to join the pre-concert Zoom. We are going to improvise music based on what YOU tell us in the pre-concert Zoom!

Impromptuo (violinist Katherine Kyu Hyeon Lim and pianist Joey Chang) are making a comeback in 2021!

Based in New York City, Impromptuo is an innovative improvisation-focused duo made up of violinist Katherine Kyu Hyeon Lim and pianist Joey Chang. The duo has been commissioned and presented by Metropolis Ensemble, House of Yes, (Le) Poisson Rouge, Fifth Wall Performing Arts, and National Arts Diversity Integration Association in 2020. They have also performed as part of the Variousound Sessions 2020 Residency, and co-founded The Moving Orchestra in 2019. Though primarily trained in European classical music, Impromptuo draws influence from traditions of free jazz, experimental electroacoustic music, etc., and suggestions from you!

The duo is presenting their first concert of 2021 with a classic Mozart violin sonata and a prominent American composer Pauline Oliveros' beautiful graphic scored piece, "Magnetic Trails".


Impromptuo Violin Piano Duo

Pay the musicians on Venmo or PayPal!

Venmo: @katherineviolin


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791)
Violin Sonata in B-flat major, K. 454
I. Largo - Allegro
II. Andante
III. Allegretto

Miniature Improvisations based on YOUR suggestions


Pauline Oliveros (1932 - 2016)
Magnetic Trails for Violin and Piano
I. East
II. South
III. West
IV. North


Sign up or Login to leave a comment.



Lily Press Emcee
Dwight Bell
Marcelo Cazar
Jackie Cazar
Pam Letourneau
Can Wang
AEON Ensemble
Hillary Bonhomme
Stacia Mills
Yen-Ping Kuo
Davis Butner
Rebecca Dennis
Adin Dobkin
Damien Archbold
Jungran Lee
Julie Thompson-Dobkin (She/Her)
Mike Hegedus
Michael Muse
Lauren Mak
Grant Hand
Max Tan
Lilibet Mendez
Stephen Pratt
Lisa lawley
Axel Hoffer
Philip Friedel
Daniel Greenhouse
Justin Tardiff
Ten M C
Guta Hedewig
Leslie Wildman
Jack costa