New Century Chamber Orchestra Presents: Playing With Structure
Groupmuse Night Out

New Century Chamber Orchestra Presents: Playing With Structure

Presidio Theatre

Fri, March 8, 2024 7:30 PM, PST
(Ticket sales closed Mar 8, 7:30 AM PST)

Pay what you can
Purchase tickets for entire 3-part series
$20 tickets ($10 for Supermusers)
Pay what you can

Part of the New Century Chamber Orchestra 3-series concert bundle series

15 of 50 tickets still available
Vaccine policy
COVID vaccine not required
Testing policy
COVID testing not required
This is an indoor event
Mask policy
Masks are not required
If you feel sick, stay home
Drinking policy
Don't bring your own drinks
Alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks for sale
Wheelchair access
Wheelchair Accessible
Kid-friendly event

This is a Groupmuse Night Out

Explore the wider world of music outside Groupmuse with exclusive discounts to local concerts.


In our second (of three) Nights Out partnerships with New Century Chamber Orchestra this season, they'll be presenting a concert exploring the topic of musical structure.

Beginning with Austrian composer Joseph Haydn, one of music’s most prominent “architects” during the Classical period, American cellist Sterling Elliott joins Daniel Hope and New Century for Haydn’s beloved first cello concerto, a virtuoso showpiece for the instrument. In the second half of the program, Igor Stravinsky’s playful ballet suite from Pulcinella offers a contrasting 20th century response to Haydn, using the amorous hijinks of the famous Italian clown to tinker unpredictably (and to the delight of modern audiences) with the shapes and patterns of centuries-old Classical melodies.

We've got these seats at a 50%+ discount for only $15 (and less for Supermusers). Purchase them in a three-concert bundle for even bigger discounts to these fabulous concerts.

Children over age 6 are welcomed. Groupmuse ticket buyers are instructed to pick up their tickets at Will Call immediately before the performance.

Check out more information on NCCO's website here.

What's the music?

Sterling Elliott

Christoph Willibald Gluck: “Dance of the Furies” from Orfeo ed Euridice

Ernest Bloch: “Prayer” from Jewish Life, No. 1

Franz Joseph Haydn: Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major


Igor Stravinsky: Pulcinella Suite (1919-1920; rev. 1949)


Comment sections are only for participants.


Thomas H.
Djesley P.
Eva T.
Ania M. Groupmuse Superhost
Michael H.
Elizabeth P.
Catharine Brook A.
Michelle C.
Loretta O.
Sally K.
Kin L.
Jon G.
Florian B.
Leah F.
Geoff H.
anna L.
Jeannette G.
Gail M.
david I.
William B.

Other events in this series