« All nearby programs

SFCO performs Beethoven and Brahms


Ian Scarfe full profile / Violin, Viola, Cello, Piano / 4 musicians

Other players: Benjamin Simon, Antoine van Dongen, Samsun van Loon

Full program notes

Ludwig van Beethoven - String Trio in E-flat, op. 3
Johannes Brahms - Piano Quartet in C Minor, Op. 60

Historical context

These are two of the absolute great masterpieces of classical chamber music.

Ludwig van Beethoven's early String Trio, Op. 3 is one of his so called "divertimentos", indicating an uncharacteristic lightness of tone for this composer of dramatic epics. The work is broken into six different dances, each of which will perfectly fit the mood of this elegant ballroom venue!

Johannes Brahms' Piano Quartet in C Minor, on the other hand, is one of the great works of tragedy by this master of the Romantic Era. The Quartet loosely follows the tale of "Young Werther" from a story by Goethe, a story of unrequited love, despair, and death. The music is one of Brahms' most searing and virtuosic displays - the mood only broken in the tender and tearfully beautiful third movement, which is one of the great cello solos of all time.

Videos from this player

Other programs from this ensemble