This groupmuse happened on Tuesday, October 3, at 7:00 PM EDT.

This is an Indoor Groupmuse.

A live, in-person performance in a host's living room or another intimate venue.

Shattered Glass and its Debut CD Release Pioneer Works Massivemuse (With Special Guest Pascal Le Boeuf)
Indoor Concert

Shattered Glass and its Debut CD Release Pioneer Works Massivemuse (With Special Guest Pascal Le Boeuf)

Red Hook

Tue, October 3, 2017 7:00 PM, EDT
(Ticket sales closed Oct 3, 6:30 PM EDT)

Drinking policy
Drinks for sale at this groupmuse
Age limit
All guests must be 21
ADA access

While hardly long-in-the-tooth, Groupmuse, now entering its sixth year of life, has been around long enough to have relationships that go back years - years that have heralded big changes for us and our favorite collaborators.

And on October 3rd, we're so honored to celebrate a watershed moment with our glorious friends at Shattered Glass - by our minds, the most dynamic and talented young ensemble in NYC - for The Debut Shattered Glass CD Release Massivemuse. And we're equally pleased to announce that the bash will be at none other than the first Massivemuse home we ever knew in New York City - Red Hook's legendary Pioneer Works.

The Massivemuse will first feature three new works, all immortalized on the new album: Transition Behavior by Pascal Le Boeuf, Entr'acte by Pulitzer-Prize winner Caroline Shaw, and Chaâbi by Tarik O'Regan. Le Boeuf is expected to be at the Massivemuse, and O'Regan is sending a short video in absentia.

The second half of the program will be Mendelssohn's 7th String Symphony. Written when he was only 13 years old, the absolutely brilliant work is a testament to the greatest musical prodigy the Western World has ever known.

This pairing of canonical and contemporary, this celebration of bold new steps, this moment to reflect on where we've been and where we're going - it's not to be missed and we looking forward to seeing you there.

"Transition Behavior by jazz keyboardist and composer Pascal Le Boeuf was commissioned by Shattered Glass and premiered in 2016 as part of their spring tour series. A high energy, hard-hitting virtuoso showpiece influenced by the rhythms of progressive jazz and heavy metal, Transition Behavior is described by the composer as “the rich sound of many simultaneous amorphous gestures that combine to reflect a musical representation of "Shattered Glass". To add to this work we created a music video that captures and accentuates all of the intensity and rhythmic intricacies contained in the piece.

By way of contrast, Grammy nominated composer Tarik O’Regan’s Chaâbi is a subtle, elegant and atmospheric piece where slow, lyrical sections inspired by North African folk music gradually build into rhythmic grooves with hints of Irish fiddle tunes. Chaabi also features many moments where members of Shattered Glass perform as soloists, resulting in unexpected musical dialogues between the members of the ensemble.

In her own words, Caroline Shaw’s Ent’racte “uses classical forms and structures as an inspiration and departure point.” From the haunting harmonies of the first bar to the pianissimo cello solo closing, Caroline Shaw’s background as a violinist is shown to great effect in Entr’acte, as her intimate understanding of string instrument playing techniques allows her to create unique textures and sound effects, some of which are completely original to her work. Caroline Shaw is the youngest ever Pulitzer Prize winner for music."


Transition Behavior- Pascal Le Boeuf
Entr'acte- Caroline Shaw
Chaâbi- Tarik O'Regan
String Symphony no.7- Felix Mendelssohn


Sign up or Login to leave a comment.

Michael Davis, almost 4 years ago

Thanks to everyone who came out for this!


Groupmuse Superhost


Joy Chen
Guillermo Silberman
Adi Dahiya
David G. Abrams
Gayla Merrick
Hersh Sahai
Sophie Berman
Joseph Goddu
Michal Jalowski
Holly Nelson, Yan Izquierdo
Camelia Negoita
Clara Abel
Andrei Kryssov
Mary Wade
Hayley Richardson
Patrick Cannell
Corinne Bennett
Stephen hays
Fenizia Maffucci
Evan Kultangwatana
Cara Distler
Luke Fleming
Dalton Harts
Brian Mountford
Michael Olson
Pema Domingo-Barker
Steven Higashide
Ravenna Lipchik
Tara Purnell
Stephanie Hanson
Brian gilling
Gary Glazner
Amelia Dietrich
Victoria Lewis
Louise Ma
Mike Mense
Jeremy L.
Katalin Kleemann
Erica Rosen
Laralyn Mowers
William Carrigan
Ellen Hindson
David Moon
Candice Baehr
Ken Hirsh
Vivian Reiss
Judi Huck
Adam Longenbach
Rosemary Nelis
Steven Lowenthal
Shelbey Casalena
Cassandra Venaglia
Will Marshall
Aditi Reddy
Maggie Horikawa
Christopher Liccardo
Julia Danitz
Paulina Vo
Logan Driscoll
Philip Rosenstein
Evy Jacob
Melanie Genin
Helen Grohmann
Han Cao
Andrew Padgett
Olga Greco
Drew Blumenthal
Emma Steele
Tarikh Korula
Maria Kucheryavaya
Xinying Li
Daniel Sircar
Amy Russell
Lauren Cheung
Samantha jacob
Makena Cunningham
Lara Kaufman
Rhoni Blankenhorn
Elena Chernova-Davis
Michael Grimm
Romanos Fessas