« More San Francisco events

Trinity Alps Chamber Music Fest presents AMERICAN SPRING
Massivemuse Warehouse

Trinity Alps Chamber Music Fest presents AMERICAN SPRING

SoMa, SF

Sat, April 6, 2024 7:30 PM, PDT

Pay the musicians
54 of 100 spots still available
Drinking policy
Bring your own drinks
Wheelchair access
Wheelchair Accessible
Kid-friendly event

This is a Groupmuse Massivemuse

Epic performances in unexpected spaces.


Ian S. Superhost
Brent H. Co-host

MONUMENT SF is going to host another epic Groupmuse show with the Trinity Alps Chamber Music Festival!

In the past they have done deep-dive concerts into the quartets from Beethoven's late years, and rollicking Klezmer music programs.

This time they are tackling one of the great American classics - and actively creating new American classics at the same time!

The program will feature Aaron Copland's original 13-instrument version from his Pulitzer-Prize-winning ballet score, "APPALACHIAN SPRING".

The program will also feature composer Sam Reider's newly commissioned work, inspired by his summer residency at the 2023 Trinity Alps Chamber Music Festival.

🎻 4 violins, 2 violas, 2 cellos, 1 double-bass
🎷 1 flute, 1 clarinet, 1 bassoon
🎹 1 piano
🪗 1 accordion
🥂 cash bar
🎶 world premiere of new music by: Sam Reider!
🏆 Pulitzer Prize winning music: Appalachian Spring!

What's the music?

Ian Scarfe Piano, Director
Gina Gulyas (she/her) Flute, Alto Flute
Sam Weiser Violin
Alicia Choi Violin
Sam Reider Piano, Accordion, Composer
Theo Espy (he/they) Violin
Ivo Bokulic Violist
Stephanie Bibbo Violin
Matthew Boyles Clarinet
Stephen Fine Viola
Kody Thiessen Double Bass
Shawn Jones Bassoon

Sam Reider - Trinity Alps Summer (world-premiere)
Aaron Copland - Appalachian Spring (original 13-instrument version)

Where does this music come from?

Aaron Copland's "Appalachian Spring" was written in 1944 originally as a "Ballet for Martha", and the interesting scoring for a small 13-piece chamber orchestra was to help Martha Graham's dance company take the ballet on tour.

The music was extraordinarily popular from the outset, winning the Pulitzer Prize the next year. Its structure of alternating dreamy, impressionistic harmonies and motives with rhythmic dances in the "American Folk Style" keeps the listener on the edge of their seat. Its recognizably "American Classical" harmonies mark it with Copland's signature sound, and the appearance of the Shaker hymn "Simple Gifts" creates a poignant and dramatic ending.

Sam Reider, a San Francisco native, trained as a classical pianist, jazz pianist, and folk accordionist at various points in his musical career. He will bring all of those style together in his own new composition, written as a commission from the Trinity Alps Chamber Music Festival.

Sam and the musicians spent a week during the summer of 2023 in the spectacular Trinity Alps of Northern California, arranging, rehearsing, and performing music as part of the Festival's annual tour of North-State California communities. Sam's describes his new piece:

"Based on my childhood memories of my grandmother Emmy Abraham’s farm in the remote Northern California town of Hyampom in the Trinity Alps mountains. My piece is in conversation with Copland’s Appalachian Spring and incorporates melodies and rhythms from the American folk music my grandmother loved. Beginning with the call of the mourning dove, a sound that throughout my life has drawn my thoughts back to Hyampom, the piece contains six short movements, each one painting a picture of a particular memory, and organized into a portrait of a single day, from dawn to dusk."

Comments (2)

Comment sections are only for participants.


Emily H.
Isaac B.
Haley N.
Renee L.
Hunter W.
Owen D.
Patrick C. (he/him)
Michael K.
Ariel R.
Cal C.
Ryan L.
Kyle S. (he/him)
Florian B.
Sam P.
raul C.
Herb E.
Catherine H.
Tane B.
Claire T.
Debbie G.
Robert Z.
Robyn L.
elena S.
Ellen F.
Bruce R.
Susan R.
Irene H.
Rachel E.
Stephen S.